Tags

, ,

Years ago, my friend and I tried a soup from Rachael Ray’s talk show that we didn’t know would turn into a family hit.  Sadly, I forgot about this recipe for a long time.  But then I was walking through Costco at dinner time and my kids were wolfing down free samples while I was racking my brain to figure out how I could make a super fast dinner when I got home.  I did not want to fall into the $1.50 hot dog or $1.99 pizza temptation that was going to hit me when I checked out.  Then, before me was a rotisserie chicken and I remembered this recipe!  It couldn’t be easier, and 20 minutes after I unpacked the car, we were sitting down to this

IMG_2861So here’s the answer to your next dinner dilemma — especially because everything but the chicken is shelf stabilized, so you can have them on hand to make in a jiffy!

Chicken Salsa Verde Soup

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 12 oz. jar of salsa verde (That’s the green salsa.  I get mine at Trader Joe’s)
  • 2 cups rotisserie chicken, shredded
  • 1 quart chicken stock

Saute the onion in olive oil. While the onions are cooking, remove the rotisserie chicken from the bone and shred.  After 3 or 4 minutes, add the garlic and let it cook for one minute.  Add the salsa verde, rotisserie chicken and chicken stock.  In place of chicken stock in a box, I use 4c. of water to 4t. (or 1T+1t) chicken base.  I get organic Better Than Boullion in a huge jar for under $7 at Costco.  But it’s seasonal, so I can only get it in the fall.  Last year I didn’t know that, but this year I stocked up!

IMG_3131

Bring up to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer. Season with salt and freshly ground black pepper and cook for a few minutes to blend the flavors.  I top it with a handful of tortilla chips crunched up, cheese, sour cream and fresh chopped cilantro.  It’s so incredibly delicious and fast!

IMG_2862

