Tags

, , , , , , ,

***My blog now resides at www.allthelittlereasons.com Please join me there to see all of the posts from this blog, as well as my new ideas, tutorials, recipes and musings!***

Ruben salad www.slipnotdesigns.wordpress.com

Remember the post on how to make corned beef that’s perfect every time?  I promised you at the end of that one to show you how to make Ruben Salad.  I was messing around with leftovers and realized this was a wonderful, lower carb option!  Plus, it travels better than a Ruben!  I began by making croutons out of the leftover Rye bread that we had used for rubens.

IMG_2164

Dice the bread into crouton sized chunks.  Mine were a little big and hard to chew 🙂

IMG_2166

Take a small pan and add a bit of olive oil in the bottom.  While the olive oil is cold, add smashed garlic.  Turn on heat and swirl occasionally until it smells fragrant, like garlic.  

IMG_2182

Put the cubes on a sheet pan and drizzle with the olive oil.  Toss around until they are completely coated.  Salt to taste.  Put in a 400 degree oven for 10-20 min, until they are lightly browned.  Mine were in for closer to twenty because they were huge.  But littler ones cook quicker.  I also stir them every 5-10 minutes.

IMG_2184

Here’s what they look like when they are done.  Golden and delicious.

IMG_2197To make the salad, put your preferred green onto your plate.  Top with chunks of corned beef, chunks of swiss cheese, rye croutons, thousand island dressing and a bit of sauerkraut (I put a little in a towel and squeeze it out before I put it on the salad).  And that’s it!  Enjoy the taste of St. Patrick’s Day, even after the day has passed!

Ruben salad www.slipnotdesigns.wordpress.com   Ruben Salad www.slipnotdesigns.wordpress.com

